Alternatives Congress Trust Board Members

To educate scientists and the public regarding, and to promote wider application of, alternatives to the use of animals in scientific research.


With our combined expertise in the 3Rs, life sciences (toxicology, regulatory testing, and biomedical research), education, welfare and bioethics as well as our experience in organizing large international conferences, we hope to make this event a memorable experience for you!

DINE (2)
Cdn Team
Cdn Team

International Scientific Advisory Committee

A diverse community composed of academics, regulators, ethicists, policy makers, industry, and non-profits to deliver the best programming for WC12.

Nicole Kleinstreuer
Director, NTP Interagency Center for the Evaluation of Alternative Toxicological Methods, USA

Joao Barroso
Scientific Officer at EURL ECVAM
European Centre for the Validation of Alternative Methods, Italy

Claus-Michael Lehr
Professor-Saarland University, Cofounder/Head of the department “Drug Delivery” at Helmholtz Institute for Pharmaceutical Research, Germany

Suzanne Fitzpatrick
Senior Advisor for Toxicology
Food and Drug Administration, USA

Hajime Kojima
Secretary General of JaCVAM
The Japanese Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods, Japan

John Gluck
Emeritus Professor of Psychology
University of New Mexico, USA

Sue Marty
Toxicology Science Director
Dow Chemicals, USA

Susanna Louhimies
DG Environment, European Commission
European Commission, Belgium/Luxembourg

Ja-Young Jeong
Director, Korean Center for the Validation of Alternative Methods, South Korea

Arianna Giusti
Scientific Manager, Cosmetics Europe, Belgium

Anna Lowit
Senior Science Advisor
United States Environmental Protection Agency, USA

Gerry Kenna
Drug Safety Consultant
Safer Medicines Trust, England

Jason Ekert
Senior Director and Head of Complex In Vitro Models
GlaxoSmithKline, England

Mathieu Vinken
Chair of the in vitro and in silico toxicology speciality section of EUROTOX
Vrije Universiteit, Belgium

Tharanga Thoradeniya
Senior Lecturer at University of Colombo
Faculty of Medicine at the University of Colombo, Sri Lanka

Brett Lidbury
Associate Professor, National Centre for Epidemiology and Population Health, The Australian National University, Australia

Anne Gourmelon
Principal Administrator,
OECD Test Guidelines Programme

Pinpin Lin
National Health Research Institutes, Taiwan

Jose Granjeiro
Professor Adjunto
Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil

Julia Fentem
Vice President-SEAC at Unilever
Safety & Environmental Assurance Centre, United Kingdom

Clemens Wittwehr
Competence Group Leader at the European Commission
European Centre for the Validation of Alternative Methods, Italy

Danilo Tagle
Associate Director for Special Initiatives
National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, USA

Amy Clippinger
Director PETA Science Consortium International

Malcolm Wilkinson
CEO Kirkstall Ltd, Non Executive Director
Kirkstall Ltd. Biotechnology company, UK

Gavin Maxwell
Industry Co-Chair
European Partnership for Alternatives to Animals

Helena Kandarova
President at the European Society of Toxicology in Vitro ESTIV
Centre of Experimental Medicine, Slovak Academy of Sciences, Slovakia

Octavio Presgrave
Toxicologist at INCQS/Fiocruz
Brazilian Center for Validation of Alternative Methods, Brazil

Sandra Coecke
Multi-stakeholder Horizontal Team Leader Farm to Fork
Methods and Models for One Health,
European Commission Joint Research Centre, Italy

Janny van den Eijnden
Managing Director, Institute for human organ and Disease Model
Technologies, Netherlands (WC11 co-chair)

Suresh Poosala
Founder and Lead, Preclinical Research and Discovery Biology
Oncoseek Bio, India

Kristie Sullivan
Vice President of Research Policy
The Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine, USA

Fiona Sewell
Head of Toxicology, National Centre for the Replacement, Reduction, and Refinement of Animals in Research (NC3Rs), United Kingdom

Gareth Sullivan
Group Leader, Norwegian Stem Cell Centre at University of Oslo, Norway

Aysha Akhta
President and CEO, Center for Contemporary Sciences, USA